EU presidency sees more active thinking on Constitution  Youth League appoints new secretary   Wu Yi pledges to fight AIDS   Chinese state councilor calls for fortified momentum for China-Japan ties  
Source: Index >> Xinjiang_Today >> About Xinjiang

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region-A Brief Description
(Tianshannet) Updated: 2006-August-17 16:48:43

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, kown as Xinjiang or Xin for short, is situated in the area of northwest China. It covers an area of 1.6649 million square kilometers accounting for one of the total Chinese territory, and, area wise; and it is the largest provincial-level administrative region in China. Located in the hinterland of the Eurasian continent, Xinjiang borders on eight countries eluding Mongolia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India from the northwest to the southwest, and the total boundary line is 5,600 kilometers long. Therefore, it is the provincial-level region with the longest boundary line and the largest number of ports of entry opening to other countries. Once an important passageway of the ancient Silk Road, it has now become the bridgehead of the second Eurasian Continental Bridge.

Xinjiang, a.k.a. the Western Region way back in history, has been a region inhabited by multiple ethnic groups and featured with the co-existence of several religions. Ever since Western Han Dynasty (B.C.206-A.D.24) it has been an inalienable part of China-a united nation of(many) multi-ethnic groups. The year 1884 witnessed the institution of province by the Qing Dynasty in Xinjiang. In 1949 Xinjiang was liberated in a peaceful manner. And on the October 1st of 1955, the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region was declared established.

The Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region has under its jurisdiction five autonomous prefectures: Ili Kazak Autonomous Prefecture, Bo'ertala Mongolian Autonomous Prefecture, Changji Hui Autonomous Prefecture, Bayinguoleng Mongolian Autonomous Prefecture and Kezilesu Kirgiz Autonomous Prefecture; seven prefectures: Tacheng Prefecture, Aletai Prefecture, Turpan Prefecture, Hami Prefecture, Akesu Prefecture, Kashi Prefecture, Hetian Prefecture; two prefecture-level cities: urumqi and Karamay; four cities under the jurisdiction of the autonomous region: Shihezi, Alal, Tumushuke and Wujiaqu; 16 cities under the jurisdiction of the antonomous prefectures and prefectures; 62 counties, six autonomous counties, 11 districts under the jurisdiction of the cities and 994 towns and townships. The capital of the Autonomous Region is urumqi. The Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps is an essential component of Xinjiang and has under its command 14 divisions with 179 regimental-level farms and ranches.

(SOURCES:xinjiang.gov)Editor: zhaoqian
  About us | Contact us
Copyright © www.tianshannet.com. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: engilsh@xjts.cn Tel: 86-991-8521333